Giving Shit

Edward Julian Watson arrived to pick-up Becki at 10 p.m. He was supposed to be there between 2 and 3 in the afternoon.
At 8 o’clock that evening, Becki had told Ms. Johnson, “Just tell him I went out.”
And Ms Johnson did as requested, always willing to keep her tenants satisfied.
“Sorry, sir, but Becki is out,” she informed Edward Julian Watson.
“If you just let me go up and knock the door to her room, I know she is home,” he wanted to convince.
But Ms. Johnson just shook her head at him. “I’m sorry, sir. There are no visitors in the rooms after 9 p.m.”
“But you see, she is spending the weekend with me. This is how I know she is not out.” Edward Julian Watson was becoming indignant.
“Oh, no, sir. Becki went out with a nice boy tonight. His Daddy is a banker and his shoes and his hair were so shiny. Oh, and so was his smile! He dresses real well too. Appropriate. Not like yourself, sir. Can I ask why you wearing a black man’s shirt?”
“I-” Edward Julian Watson began and then said loudly, “She’s ignoring me! I know she is! She does this!”
“No, sir,” Ms. Johnson assured. “Tonight Becki went out with a nice boy. Clear outta here.” And she closed the front door on Edward Julian Watson’s nose.
Becki had been listening from the top of the stairs, chewing off her pink nail polish and her eyes had been growing damp. She knew Ms. Johnson was telling the story of what she hoped for Becki’s future.
Becki was feeling love for Ms. Johnson.
Even if it was her Mother’s vision too.
And Edward Julian Watson, well, he was making his way back out to his car. He was swearing and he up for a fight. He wasn’t clearing the hell outta anywhere.

It was such a sunny morning and when Ms. Johnson pointed towards the window, Becki could not see out it at first, even though she barely opened the curtain.
But yes, she finally saw him. There was Edward.
“I noticed he was still out there about 3 in the mornin’. Scared me a bit and thought I’d get out the shotgun, ’til I noticed he’s sleeping.”
“He still is.” Becki affirmed and after a pause, “Ms. Johnson, let’s call Jimmy.”
And Jimmy smiled through the telephone. “Why Ms. Johnson, you know I’d do anything for you. Even leave church on a Sunday. Let me talk to the girl.”
Then Jimmy put on his hat and kissed his wife and left. He parked his car a house down from Ms. Johnson’s. He made big displays about sneaking up the driveway and over to the car because he knew Ms. Johnson was watching him. Both women were and they were giggling. Becki covered her mouth with her hand.
Jimmy made monkey faces at Edward Julian Watson, before he knocked on the window and waited for him to wake-up and roll it down.
“May I see your license, sir?” Jimmy asked.
And Edward Julian Watson was already fumbling into the back pocket of his pants, before the words were out and he handed the card over.
“Have you been here sleeping in your car, since last night, sir?”
“Yes, but-“
“Haven’t ya been here long enough now, sir?”
“No.-“
“Yes.”
“No,” Edward Julian Watson was going to explain. “I have driven from-“
“Sir, you cannot stay here any longer.”
“Yes, I have come here to see-“
“It does not matter, sir. Time to clear outta here.” And Jimmy rapped his knuckles on the roof of the car.
“She is ignoring me! I know she is! She does this!” An excitable Edward Julian Watson.
“Sir, can you get out of the car, please?”
And Edward Julian Watson did what he was told. Instead of just agreeing to go.
And slap went the cuffs and Edward Julian Watson thought, … what the fuck- and Jimmy was whispering in his ear, “You got a real nice car here, sir. Too bad Leroy’ll be comin’ to tow it.”
Jimmy was laughing.
And Edward Julian Watson was yelling, “WHAT?!?! WHAT?!?”
And the police officer asked, “Sir, do you want to calm down and get the hell outta here now or not?”
And Edward Julian Watson, he said, “No.”

4 responses to “Giving Shit

Leave a Comment